Skip to content

The National Private Truck Council (NPTC) is the only national trade association dedicated exclusively to representing the interests of the nation’s private corporate truck fleets. These corporate or “private” truck fleets are operated to meet the inbound and outbound transportation needs of their companies.

The Association was founded in 1939 as an independent organization initially named the “National Council of Private Motor Truck Operators” after attempts during the 1930s to organize a special private truck conference of the American Trucking Associations (ATA) failed. In 1947, the ATA created a competing organization called “The Private Carrier Conference (PCC)” and it became the largest affiliate of the ATA. In 1953, the National Council of Private Motor Truck Operators changed its name to the “Private Truck Council of America” (PTCA). For over forty years, the PCC and the PTCA operated separately as competitors representing the private fleet trucking industry in Washington, D.C.

In 1987, the PCC disaffiliated with the ATA and renamed itself the “National Private Trucking Association” (NPTA). In 1988, the NPTA and the PTCA voted to merge the two organizations into one. A year later, in 1989, as a result of this merger, the National Private Truck Council was chartered in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Since its inception, NPTC has been an independent national trade association unaffiliated with any other organization in the trucking industry.

In 1992, NPTC formed the Institute for Truck Transportation Management (ITTM), a non-profit charitable and educational corporation operating as a subsidiary of NPTC. The NPTC Institute provides training and certification services for the private fleet industry and oversees the Certified Transportation Professional (CTP®) program which is the only national certification credential for private fleet managers in the United States.

NPTC represents a broad cross-section of America’s Fortune 500 elites such was Walmart, Linde, CVS Health, Amazon, Home Depot, Marathon Petroleum, Schwans Food, Pepsi, Michelin, Batesville, Frito-Lay, Oldcastle, Walgreens and hundreds of other manufacturers, distributors, retailers and public service agencies, as well as hundreds of medium to small companies of all kinds with private fleets.

Private fleets account for 82 percent of the medium and heavy-duty trucks registered in the United States; travel approximately 53% of all the U.S. miles traveled for medium and heavy duty trucks, and consist of slightly more than two million vehicles and some 2 million drivers. Private fleets continue to comprise the largest segment of the trucking industry.

NPTC celebrated its combined 75th Anniversary at the Annual Education Management Conference and Exhibition in Cincinnati, April 13-15, 2014.

From 1988 forward, the following individuals served as Chairman of the National Private Truck Council.

2024- David Barth, CTP
2022-2024 Charles Amen, CTP
2020-2022 Michael Schwersenska, CTP
2018-2020 Carol Heinowski
2016-2018 Bill Hartman, CTP
2014-2016 J. Bedford Monday, Jr., CTP
2012-2014 Gary L. Strausbaugh, CTP
2010-2012 Rick Foster, CDS
Ron D. Tartt, CTP
Harry J. Haney, III
Matthew W. Peterson, CTP
Charles M. Rottmund
Daniel P. Smith
Thomas A. Benson
Kit Kloecki, CTP
Jim Christensen
Gary S. Putman, CTP
W.J. Carroll
Thomas R. Stedman
David L. Ehrick

Between 1939 and 1988, the following individuals served as Chairman of the National Private Truck Council and/or its predecessor organizations.

  • W. H. Ott
  • F. Brenckman
  • A. M. Grean, Jr.
  • R. J. O’Hare
  • H. V. Haley
  • G. Faunce, Jr.
  • T. A. Drescher
  • A. B. Gorman
  • H. O. Mathews
  • R. B. Rodgers
  • H. H. Lincoln
  • H. E. Manker
  • W. E. Givens
  • I. V. Kimball
  • W. L. Fayle
  • E. J. Dempsey
  • W. R. Ross
  • J. E. Spohn
  • T. Manning
  • W. J. Morgan
  • W. T. Landon
  • R. Lopardo
  • E. C. Dorries, Jr.
  • E. W. Sams
  • H. F. Lacey
  • R. GestautL. A. McLane
  • A. D. Wilson
  • T. R. Stephens
  • G. R. French
  • D. A. Wilson
  • E. S. Schlosser
  • H. Granberry
  • W. L. Weymouth
  • E. M. Cody
  • J. H. Meyers
  • R. P. Lomas
Back To Top