Skip to content

For Immediate Release
April 29, 2019

For Information Contact:
Gary Petty, NPTC

NPTC and TransForce Group Present Private Fleet Leadership Awards

ARLINGTON, VA – The National Private Truck Council (NPTC) and award program sponsor, TransForce Group, recognized seven private fleet professionals for their impressive contributions to the private fleet community during NPTC’s Annual Education Management Conference and Exhibition held April 14-16, 2019 in Cincinnati. Since 1990, the NPTC Private Fleet Professional Leadership Awards have recognized those individuals who have positively impacted the National Private Truck Council, their profession, and the private trucking community.

“Private fleets play a critical role in our national transportation infrastructure and the professionals who support this sector demonstrate their commitments to safety, efficiency and productivity every day,” stated NPTC President Gary Petty. “We are honored to acknowledge the efforts of these outstanding professionals who have made significant contribution to NPTC, their profession and the private trucking community.”

Recognized as the Private Fleet Executive of the Year was Mike Schwersenska, CTP, Director of Transportation & Logistics, Brakebush Transportation, Inc. Mike has been in the transportation industry for more than 20 years. He has been with Brakebush Brothers Transportation since 1999 where he started as a dispatcher, was promoted to Fleet Manager in 2000 and named Director of Transportation/Logistics in December 2014. In this position he oversees all outbound/inbound transportation operations, carrier performance and rate and service negotiations. He is responsible for analyzing performance and operations to identify and implement strategies for increased productivity, quality customer service and cost-saving efficiencies.

Brian Johnston, CTP, Sr. Director of Transportation, Core-Mark International, was honored as the NPTC Fleet Member of the Year. Brian is responsible for the Transportation/Fleet Support for 30 Distribution Centers, including close to 1,400 drivers, 1,000 power units and 1,300 non-power units. Brian provides support in the form of fleet management, route optimization and transportation technology. Brian has been with Core-Mark International, Inc. since April 2016. Prior to joining Core-Mark International, Inc., he held transportation/fleet management positions at companies such as The Kellogg Company, Greif Packaging, The SYGMA Network and Exel Logistics.

Named as the Private Fleet Safety Professional of the Year was Keith Frantz, CTP, DOT Compliance Manager, ADM Trucking, Inc. In his current position, Keith is responsible for managing the compliance expectations for third party logistics carriers. ADM currently holds three DOT operating authorities, one intrastate authority and a Hazardous Material Safety Permit. The fleet is composed of food grade tank and pneumatics, grain and animal feed hoppers, intermodal, flatbed, and straight trucks. Prior to ADM Keith was a partner with a compliance company assisting carriers during FMCSA compliance reviews and improving their safety programs in the Midwest.

Andrea Viele, CTP, Group Transportation Manager, Nestlé USA, was named NPTC Excellence in Membership Award (Fleet). Andrea began her career at Frito-Lay in 2000 as a Route Sales Representative. She quickly moved over to work in Supply Chain holding multiple roles within the warehouse and transportation groups. In 2007 Andrea joined Nestlé Waters and moved over to Nestlé USA in 2010. In her current role she is the Group Transportation Manager for the Nestlé Private Fleet and Dedicated Carriers.

Gina Vecchioni, CTP, National Account Manager, PACCAR Leasing Company, received the NPTC Excellence in Membership Award (Allied). Gina has more than 30 years of experience in the transportation industry. She began employment with Ryder in 1988 and currently works as a National Account Sales Executive for PACCAR Leasing. Gina obtained her CTP designation in 2015. She currently serves on the Membership Committee and volunteers to grade CTP exams every year in Jacksonville.

The NPTC Allied Member of the Year was presented to Trimble Transportation. Trimble provides solutions to create a fully integrated supply chain, helping customers make more informed decisions and maximize performance, visibility and safety. With an intelligent ecosystem of products and services, Trimble Transportation enables customers to embrace the rapid technological evolution of the industry and connect all aspects of transportation and logistics — trucks, drivers, back office, freight and assets.

The final award, the NPTC Excellence in Backhauling Award, went to Scott Willert, President, America’s Service Line, LLC. Scott Willert is the President of America’s Service Line, LLC (ASL) and America’s Logistics, LLC (AML) located in Green Bay, WI. ASL has approximately 200 trucks and is the Private Fleet of American Foods Group and AML is the Logistics division of AFG. Scott has more than 30 years of transportation and logistics experience working for UPS, Kraft Foods and ASL/AML. He is actively involved in the NPTC as a member of the Board of Governors and the Annual Conference Planning Committee. He has presented on multiple occasions at the Annual Conference and PFMI on various topics. Scott also serves on the Board of Directors of the Wisconsin Motor Carriers Association and the Agriculture and Food Transporters Conference of the ATA.


David Broome, President and CEO of TransForce Group (left), and Gary Petty, President and CEO of the National Private Truck Council (right), recognize the recipients of the NPTC/TransForce Group Private Fleet Professional Leadership Awards (from left): Andrea Viele, CTP, Nestlé USA; Gina Vecchioni, CTP, PACCAR Leasing Company; Scott Willert, America’s Service Line, LLC; Keith Frantz, CTP, ADM Trucking, Inc.; Bryan Coyne, CTP, Trimble Transportation; Brian Johnston, CTP, Core-Mark International; and Mike Schwersenska, CTP, Director of Transportation & Logistics, Brakebush Transportation, Inc. 

Back To Top