Skip to content

For Immediate Release
April 28, 2010

For Information Contact:
Gary Petty, NPTC

NPTC Announces Safety Award Winners

Arlington, VA – The National Private Truck Council (NPTC) recognized those fleet members who had continued to elevate safety performance during the group’s Annual Education Management Conference and Exhibition held April 18-20, 2010 in Cincinnati.

“The purpose of the Safety Awards program is to recognize those member companies that strive to make private fleet safety a benchmark of their operations,” said Randy Perry, Fleet Safety Manager for Frito-Lay, Inc. and Chair of the NPTC Safety Committee.

The NPTC/Bridgestone Bandag Tire Solutions Fleet of the Year Awards are presented to those companies whose fleets experienced the lowest ratio of accidents per million miles for the past year. These awards are given for the entire fleet's vehicle accident frequency rate (VAFR) by fleet size and operational category. The winners for 2010 were:

LOCAL OPERATIONS (fleets whose vehicles deliver in a local market regardless of size)  
First Place (tie):
Dominion Virginia Power
Milliken & Company
Shaw Industries Group, Inc.
Webster Industries, Inc.
REGIONAL OPERATIONS (Small Fleet – less than 50 vehicles)
First Place (tie):
Jerico Services, Inc.
Moen, Incorporated
Third Place: Gates Corporation

REGIONAL OPERATIONS (Large Fleet – 50 vehicles or more)
First Place: Sherwin Williams/Contract Transportation System

MIXED OPERATIONS (Small Fleet – less than 50 vehicles)
First Place:
ADM Trucking, Inc.
Frito-Lay, Inc.
Targa Transport LLC
MIXED OPERATIONS (Large Fleet – 50 vehicles or more)
First Place: GNC Transportation LLC
Second Place: Land O’ Lakes, Inc.
Third Place: Frito-Lay, Inc.

Also recognized, were those fleets with outstanding and/or improved safety records based upon their crash rates. Winners of the Gold Seal, awarded to fleet experiencing ZERO crashes in 2010, include:

•    ADM Trucking, Inc.
•    Dominion Virginia Power
•    Frito-Lay, Inc.
•    Jerico Services, Inc.
•    Milliken & Company
•    Moen, Incorporated
•    Shaw Industries Group, Inc.
•    Targa Midstream Services, LP
•    Webster Industries, Inc.

Winners of the Silver Seal, presented to those companies whose fleets reduced their vehicle crash rates by 40% or more compared to the previous year, were:

•    ADM Trucking, Inc.
•    Energy Dispatch
•    Frito-Lay, Inc.
•    Gates Corporation
•    George’s Foods, LLC
•    GNC Transportation LLC
•    Moen, Incorporated
•    Orgill, Inc.
•    Shaw Industries Group, Inc.
•    Smithfield Transportation Co.
•    Targa Transport, LLC
•    Webster Industries, Inc.
•    WilcoHess, LLC

The Bronze Seal recognition is presented to companies who have reduced their vehicle crash rates by 20% to 39% from the previous year. The winners of the Bronze Seal are:

•    ADM Trucking, Inc.
•    Frito-Lay, Inc.
•    Hospira Worldwide, Inc.
•    Milliken & Company
•    Shaw Industries Group, Inc.
•    Sherwin Williams/Contract Transportation System
•    Smithfield Transportation Co.
•    Targa Transport, LLC

#  #  #

About NPTC
Founded in 1939, the National Private Truck Council is the only national trade association exclusively representing the interests of the private truck industry and corporate/business private truck fleet management.  NPTC is the premier marketplace of information, networking and skill building for private fleet professionals as it leads in shaping the future of corporate transportation.

# # # 

Back To Top