Skip to content

For Immediate Release
May 29, 2009

For Information Contact:
Gary Petty, NPTC

NPTC Presents Private Fleet Leadership Awards

Nashville, TN – The National Private Truck Council (NPTC) presented its Private Fleet Professional Leadership Awards, co-sponsored by Heavy Duty Trucking/Newport Communications, at the group’s Annual Education Management Conference and Exhibition held May 3-5, 2009, in Nashville, TN.

Since 1990, the Professional Leadership Awards have been given to recognize individuals who have made significant contributions to the National Private Truck Council, their profession, and the private trucking community.

The Private Fleet Executive of the Year, NPTC's highest individual award, went to Harry J. Haney, III, Harry is Associate Director of Logistics Operations for Kraft Foods, Inc. where he has worked for 22 years.  He has several years in fleet management experience including private fleet management positions in Buena Park, Calif.; Decatur, Ga; and Champaign, Ill. Later, he was responsible for Kraft’s private and dedicated fleets based in Madison, Wis. Harry holds a bachelor’s degree in transportation and logistics from Ohio State University and a Masters in Business Administration from Eastern Illinois University.  He is the current treasurer of NPTC and the  immediate past chair. He was also instrumental in chairing the steering committee involved in the University of Michigan Transportation Research Institute Study on truck size and weight.

The Private Fleet Safety Professional of the Year Award went to Randy Perry, CDS, Southern Division Fleet Safety Manager for Frito-Lay, Inc. Randy has been employed by Frito Lay for 28 years, working in a variety of positions of increasing responsibility ranging from sales to operations to safety. Randy is a graduate of West Georgia College with a degree in marketing. Randy is a certified instructor for Defensive Driving for Professional Truck Drivers, a Continuous Improvement Master Trainer, and active member of the National Private Truck Council. Randy is active on the NPTC Safety Committee; was recently named to chair its education subcommittee; was a guest presenter at the most successful webcast hosted in the history of the NPTC/J.J. Keller partnership; and is a frequent presenter at NPTC meetings.

The Private Fleet Member of the Year Award was presented to George Carpenter, CTP, Director of Warehouse Management System Project, for the Army and Air Force Exchange Service (AAFES). In his current role, George is responsible integrating technology into the supply chain process and assisting operators in leveraging technology to improve efficiencies and drive process change. George is a 30-year logistics and transportation professional with experience from the cab to the executive management ranks. Prior to his current position, George has served in a variety of positions with AAFES from driver to Director of Private Fleet Operations during his career. George is an active member of the NPTC’s Board and chairs our Membership Committee. He is a frequent speaker both at the annual meeting as well as the Private Fleet Management Institute. Active in the Dallas chapter of the National Defense Transportation Association (NDTA), George holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Business Administration from Baker College. George is a Microsoft Certified Professional. He earned his CTP designation in 2006.

This year’s Allied Member of the Year Award went C.H. Robinson Worldwide, Inc. for helping to launch the Fleet Optimization Center, a service designed to assist private fleet members maximize asset utilization by eliminating empty and unprofitable miles. Since the program was launched more than a year ago, 64 private fleets have established or enhanced relationships with C. H. Robinson and moved more than 5,000 loads since the inception of the program despite a virtual free fall in the freight market.

The NPTC Membership Development Award honored Schneider National, Inc. for its efforts to bring in 40 new NPTC Fleet Members in conjunction with the sponsorship of the  Private Fleet Assessment Program.

In addition, Haig Dikijian, CTP, of Verizon Logistics received the Daniel P. Smith Life Achievement Award, given to an individual who has made significant leadership contributions to the NPTC in helping advance the goals and objectives of the Council and whose personal traits of honor, integrity, tenacity, and devotion to duty in making these contributions serve as an exemplary model for future NPTC-member private fleet professionals.

The Safety Program Director for Verizon Logistics, Dikijian has been in the transportation industry with the same company for more than 44 years. He has served on the NPTC Board of Directors, NPTC Membership Committee and is currently an active member of the NPTC Safety Committee. Haig achieved his CTP certification with the first graduating class in 1993 and continues to maintain his CDL ‘A’ License (with all endorsements) as well.

About NPTC
Founded in 1939, the National Private Truck Council is the only national trade association exclusively representing the interests of the private truck industry and corporate/business private truck fleet management.  NPTC is the premier marketplace of information, networking and skill building for private fleet professionals as it leads in shaping the future of corporate transportation.

# # # 

Back To Top