Skip to content

For Immediate Release
May 6, 2005

For Information Contact:
Gary Petty, NPTC

NPTC Honors Private Fleet Professionals

Alexandria, VA – The National Private Truck Council (NPTC) presented its F.L.E.E.T. Leadership Awards April 25, 2005, at the NPTC 2005 Annual Education Management Conference and Exhibition held in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

Since 1990, the NPTC F.L.E.E.T. Awards (For Leadership, Enterprise, and Excellence in Trucking) are given annually to recognize individuals who have made significant contributions to the National Private Truck Council, their profession, and the private trucking community.

The Private Fleet Executive of the Year, NPTC's highest individual award, went to Tom Stedman, Director of Corporate Transportation for Walgreens in Illinois.

Tom joined Walgreens in 1958 as a store clerk in a Chicago store. He left the company in 1959 but then returned in 1974 as Manager of Private Carrier Operations in Corporate Transportation.

He has a degree in Business Administration and General Science from Northwestern University. Tom is a past president and chairman of the National Private Carrier Council and the Chain Store Traffic League. He has also served on the board of the Illinois Trucking Association and is an instructor at Oakton Community College.

The Fleet Safety Professional of the Year goes to Charlie Rottmund, Manager of Global Transport Operations for BOC Process Gas Solutions in Butler, Pennsylvania.

Charlie has been involved in the safety and fleet operations in the bulk transport industry for 35 years. His current responsibilities include the safety, transport and maintenance for six continents on which BOC operates. He is also the leader of new integrated management systems and standards for BOC worldwide.

Charlie was an active member of the NPTC Board of Directors from 1987 through 2004, and recently Board Chairman.

The Fleet Member of the Year Award this year honors Bruce Perkins, CTP, Director of Logistics and Branch Operations for Yorktowne, Inc. in Red Lion Pennsylvania.

Bruce has been with Yorktowne Cabinets for 17 years. During that time, he transitioned from an over-the-road regional private fleet to one that included a mixed private fleet for local delivery.

Bruce has been in the private fleet, transportation, distribution and logistics field for more than 30 years. He earned his CTP designation in 1996. Since then, he’s been a member of the NPTC Safety Committee, which he currently “chairs.” He has also been a member of the Legislative and Regulatory Advisory Committee and the National Advisory Board since their inceptions. Bruce has presented workshops at previous NPTC Annual Conferences and has represented NPTC at several Idealease Seminars.

This year’s winner of the Allied Member of the Year is Dave Ellis, Director of Business Development for J.J. Keller and Associates in Neenah, Wisconsin.

Dave has spent the past 28 years at J.J. Keller and Associates, assessing, evaluating and implementing a variety of business venture opportunities designed to extend Keller’s reach into new and existing markets. As Director of Business Development, Dave has directed and overseen the development of contracts involving regulatory compliance assurance programs. He’s also developed and implemented marketing plans for the company’s Custom Solutions Department.

Dave has his Bachelor’s Degree in Education from the University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh. He’s also completed marketing and executive management training at the University of Wisconsin-Madison Business Institute.

Our final Award, our Membership Development Award, goes to Tony Jolly, CTP, OperationsManager – Dedicated Fleets/Nistevo for General Mills in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Tony began his career in transportation 28 years ago, working with both private and dedicated fleets. He received his CTP certification with the first graduating class in 1993 and has attended every NPTC Annual Education Management Conference since.

Tony has helped shape the direction of NPTC by serving on the NPTC Board of Directors since 1992, and, in addition, he previously served on the Safety Committee from 1991 to 1999.

Fleet Graphics Awards

Also announced during this ceremony were the Commercial Vehicle Graphics Awards. This is an annual event sponsored by the National Private Truck Council and Commercial Carrier Journal Magazine that recognizes fleets for their creative and conspicuous graphics design color schemes and general appearance which enhances the motor carrier industry’s public image and the image or products of the company operating the vehicles.

This year’s award winners are:

Day Category

First Place: Sargento Foods, Inc., Plymouth, Wisconsin

Second Place: Oberweis Dairy, North Aurora, Illinois

Third Place: Mayfield Dairy Farms, Inc., Athens, Tennessee

Honorable Mention: PureFact, St. Joseph, Missouri

Night Category

First Place: Cooper Tire Company, Findlay, Ohio

Second Place: Sunoco, Inc., Wyomissing, Pennsylvania

Third Place: The Schwan Food Company, Marshall, Minnesota

About NPTC
Founded in 1939, the National Private Truck Council is the only national trade association exclusively representing the interests of the private truck industry and corporate/business private truck fleet management. NPTC is the premier marketplace of information, networking and skill building for private fleet professionals as it leads in shaping the future of corporate transportation.

# # #

Back To Top